I have spent many years in and around the world of education and the one thing that all teachers come to realize very quickly is that nothing ever goes as planned. Sometimes things will go better than planned in your classroom and other times, a lesson or activity that you thought would go fantastically, does not go over as well with the students.

Through this blog I will share my experiences, both great and not so great, in my high school English classroom as well as my experiences coaching high school cheerleading. Being in a rural public school I get theย privilegeย of working with Sophomores, Juniors and Seniors each day. We are on a regular 8-period schedule and I have 4 different preps each semester; each of my levels and a Speech class during 1st Semester.

I am very lucky that I get to plan my curriculum and I have a great group of teachers that I can collaborate with. Since I am the only English teacher for the gen ed sophomores, juniors, and seniors, I can tailor the curriculum to match the needs of my students each year or to change curriculum based on the previous year.

I look forward to sharing my experiences with all of you and can’t wait to hear what works in everyone’s classrooms. While I teach at the high school level, many times ideas can be tailored to any grade level. Happy Teaching everyone!Image

