Tags

, , ,

Book cover from Goodreads

Summary from Goodreads:

Ben Addison, fresh from Yale Law, is a new clerk for one of the Supreme Court’s most respected justices. But when he accidentally reveals the secret outcome of an upcoming decision, a blackmailer makes millions and Ben starts to sweat. Big time. He turns to his co-clerk, Lisa, and his housemates, Nathan, Eric, and Ober, for help. Washington’s best and brightest, they offer coveted insider access to the State Department, a major Washington newspaper, and the Senate. But before they know it, their careers-and their lives-are on the line. Where does loyalty end? Where does greed begin? And how much can you really trust your friends?

For most of my break I had been reading more of the mindless, feel-good, romance novels. But after reading 5 of those, I needed something more…

I was looking for a book that would intrigue, that would draw me into the action as it developed. As I began my search for the novel that would do exactly that, I spent hours on my Nook trying to find that one perfect book. As I came across another one of Brad Meltzer’s novels on my Nook, I began thinking of the other Meltzer novels that I had read.

It was at that point, at midnight that I climbed out of bed and began combing my bookshelves for those exact stories. I came across several that I had bought, but had not yet read. It was then that I started looking at the publication dates and settled on The Tenth Justice I know that’s not typically the conventional way of choosing a book to read, but I was set on reading a Meltzer novel that I already owned and as I could not make a decision based on the description, that was my fall back.

I was a little leery about reading a novel based around the Supreme Court as that is not my usual area of interest when reading a novel, but as I began the book, the characters and the action seemed to draw me into their world and move right along. I felt as though I were there with the main character, Ben Addison, as he began working at his new job. I could relate to the anxiety of wanting to make the best impression. You are pulled into the lives of the friends living together in one house and watch as relationships change and Ben is forced to ask himself if he can truly trust his friends and his career is threatened.

The Tenth Justice is a great book for anyone who wants an intellectual thriller. There are mind-games, manipulation and the real question of wondering who you can trust in your life when the most important decisions need to be made. I am looking forward to reading more of Brad Meltzer’s books.

