Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Book Cover courtesy of goodreads.com

Summary from Goodreads.com

“Six minutes from now, one of us would be dead. None of us knew it was coming.”

So says Wes Holloway, a young presidential aide, about the day he put Ron Boyle, the chief executive’s oldest friend, into the president’s limousine. By the trip’s end, a crazed assassin would permanently disfigure Wes and kill Boyle. Now, eight years later, Boyle has been spotted alive. Trying to figure out what really happened takes Wes back into disturbing secrets buried in Freemason history, a decade-old presidential crossword puzzle, and a two-hundred-year-old code invented by Thomas Jefferson that conceals secrets worth dying for.

My remarks/thoughts:

Usually once school starts back up from a break of any kind, I usually take a break from reading books for pleasure as I become more engrossed in the daily routine of planning and reading novels with my students. However, I made an exception for Brad Meltzer’s The Book of Fate.

I had chosen this book to read because I was on a Brad Meltzer kick after starting with The Tenth JusticeThe Book of Fate gave me a way to continue to read another fascinating story created by Meltzer. This novel puts into the mindset of the main character Wes, and the reader becomes acutely aware of the emotions and trauma that Wes has gone through the past few years. As a person from Wes’s past unexpectedly appears, someone Wes though had been killed, the reader senses the turmoil that he faces.

As the story unfolds, the intricate knot of deception and plotting begins to unravel. While the story does focus mainly from Wes’s perspective, we are able to get a sense of what other characters are doing and how Wes’s life is going to be changed once again. It is through the different perspectives that the reader starts to piece together what happened many years ago to Wes while he was working of the President of the United States and someone died.

While Meltzer keeps the reader guessing as to who could be involved in such a devious plot, I was not completely satisfied with all that was presented in the novel. As we read above in the summary of the book, it mentions the Freemasons and a code created by Thomas Jefferson as part of the driving force behind the story. However, I feel that the Jefferson code was revealed too late in the story line and that not much was really said about it. I did, however, enjoy a brief shout-out to my sorority, Pi Beta Phi, that was made in passing in one of the chapters.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. In fact, I sacrificed a night of sleep on a school night so that I could finish the novel and to get to the resolution. As I continue to find with Meltzer’s novels, the action moved quickly and the flow kept the pages turning.

