Tags

, , , , , ,

I know, I know…I haven’t posted a new blog post in a while. As I look at the last time I wrote, I wonder and ask myself, “where did the time go?” I feel as though I need more hours in a day, more days in a week, maybe even a few more weeks in the year.

It seems as though, lately, time has been moving in fast forward. There is always something to do, somewhere to be, a schedule to make, a lesson to plan.

Today, school was dismissed early because of the snow. And I am so very thankful to Mother Nature for bringing this snow so that I may take a few moments to breathe. We all need to remember to take a few moments when we can to let ourselves just be. Our brains and our bodies appreciate those minutes where where we allow them to relax and unwind.

For me this year, the end of February means the end of the high school Basketball season, which means craziness as we enter Regionals and prepare for the rest of the post-season. I am so very proud of the boys’ basketball team and all of my cheerleaders and they dedicate themselves to achieving as much as they can and always looking to achieve their next goal. But as one season starts to wind down, I’m already looking towards my next season which will just be getting started in a few weeks.

This year, I will also be the assistant track coach for our junior high team. As excited as I am to be involved in a sport that I love and have missed, I am also enjoying these few minutes I have to find time again. I am able to sit and relax as I work on my writing. Having these moments to myself enables me to give my best to my students and my athletes when they need me the most.

For those of you in Illinois, I hope everyone stays safe and warm with the snow that we are getting and for those of you everywhere else, happy teaching and happy writing!

