Tags

, , , , , ,

I can’t even begin to count the number of times, when people hear that I’m a teacher and that the school year is over, that they then proceed to say, “Oh, so you get your summer off then. What are you going to do for 3 months?” It’s amazing because while, yes, I do not have students every day of the week, I in fact do not simply have the summer off.

To illustrate what I mean…My students had their last attendance day for finals on May 29. Once students were gone, May 30 I, along with my fellow teachers and staff members had a teacher institute day to have end of the year meetings and to pack up our rooms for the summer to allow for the cleaning that takes place. I then on May 31 went with another teacher to Six Flags St. Louis to help chaperone the students that were a part of the Student Council and Pep Club on their end-of-the-year field trip.

Then that following Monday began my already work-related schedule for the month of June. I had a workshop that I attended in that afternoon. This week I have been attending a 3-day conference about using the Library of Congress as a resource in the classroom. (They have tons of interesting ideas and resources for everybody!) This Monday I will have another workshop as more information is presented about the Common Core State Standards and making sure our lessons are relating the information from the standards. Then Thursday and Friday I will attend another conference.

As much as I love being a life-long learner and I absolutely love my students and my job…right now, I’m wishing for a reclining chair on a beach and a large stack of books. 🙂 Because before I know it, I’m going to blink and my summer will be gone…

