Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Know what your end goal is, how you want to get there and where you need to start.

As educators we always want our students to set goals for themselves. To push themselves to do things that they never thought they would be able to accomplish. Sometimes these goals could be as simple as finishing a book that they always though was too difficult for them. The goal could be to graduate from high school or to be the first person in their family to go to college.

Many times we have our students set educational goals, but it is important for them to realize that not all goals are in the classroom. For example, I had already set the goal for myself to read all of the books on the list for the virtual book club that I am a part of. (To see the books that I have already read, you can visit the “Feeding My Addiction” page.) However, for me, reading has always been enjoyable and I do not seem to have to work as hard at it as some of my students.

So what then could I do that I would have to work at? What could I do to show students that goals don’t always have to be educational? Well after coaching junior high track this past spring, I decided to get back into running myself. In fact, I have my first 5K in about 2 years this coming Saturday (which I am both excited and nervous about). But I knew that I had achieved this goal before and I wanted something that would push myself. It started with the idea of my cousin saying I could run a half-marathon with her, but I wasn’t sure if I was quite ready to go that far. So I decided instead to first start with training for a 10K…something that was more challenging than a 5K , but also something that will give me the confidence to possibly work up to that goal of running a half-marathon.

As of today, I have started the second week of my training and I’m feeling pretty good about it. I know this will also be a lesson that I will be able to share with my students. That if you work hard and have a plan, you will be able to accomplish whatever goal you put your mind to.

(I have attached the .pdf with the plan I have been following to train if you wanted to take a look) 10k Training Plan

