Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It may be summertime, but it seems that I just can’t turn off the English teacher in me. Since it is summertime, that means that I seem to have more time to check up on my social media accounts and I have apparently found my newest pet peeve — adults who don’t know how to spell.

Now I understand that when people type there are bound to be some finger slips (such as typing “teh” instead of “the”) and the dreaded autocorrect mishap; those are not what I’m referring to. No, it would appear that many adults have forgotten the difference between “your” and “you’re.”

There are so many potentially great posts out there and many that I would love to repost (whether on Facebook or Twitter), but as soon as I notice that mistake I am immediately turned off. What I think people forget is that there are many employers who take a look at what you’re posting (even if you try to hide it) and depending on your profession, these minor mistakes could have a major influence on decisions. While this may seem extreme, think about if your job requires you to do write-ups or reports or some form of correspondence (as many do). If these are simple things that a person is not noticing, it could come back to haunt you in a more professional setting.

Again, I understand that no one is perfect in their writing (I’m certainly not) or their typing, but I think that it’s important that we remember some of the simple rules of grammar. Seeing these mistakes by adults makes me curious to see what many teenagers are writing when they post on social media sites. I know that “text speak” is something that has become prevalent in teenage writing (I’ve seen it appear in papers written for school) but with writing being an everyday practice, students should get into the habit of writing things correctly.

What’s amusing is that there are so many memes out there (many of them inappropriate but funny) about “your” and “you’re,” so I am obviously not the first (and I definitely won’t be the last) to notice all of the misuses. There was even a song that I found on YouTube about “your” vs. “you’re.” You can take a look here:Β http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DCc4PgF2Ris

You can always rely on a “Hey girl” meme to prove any point

