Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So I realize this blog post isn’t education related, but I suppose in a way it could be. I’ve been thinking about this question for the past day or so…why do we angry tweet and unhappily post on social media? I’m not normally one of those people, but last night I definitely was.

If you’ve read my blog before, you might know that I currently live in the western part of Illinois. However, I was born and raised in the Chicagoland area so last night (Sunday) was a disastrous night for anyone rooting for the Chicago Bears. I was one of those people, originally excited to see what the Bears would do against the Packers, who became dismayed and disgusted by the performance (or lack thereof) during the game. It was during this event that I took to Twitter and very publicly voiced my displeasure at what I was seeing on my TV.

It was because of this event and my actions in response that I started thinking about why people post negative thoughts and feelings on social media. I have come to the conclusion that we simply want someone to “listen” to us and commiserate with us. I think we have to remember to post the good things too and show our appreciation of things to balance out the negative, but sometimes we just need an audience to share with in our times of dismay or displeasure.

I find that can be true for some of our students as well. It could be that there’s a student who acts out in class in a negative way, but there could be something else that they’re actually angry at and simply don’t have any other outlet to express those feelings. Sometimes it’s important to keep in mind that everyone just needs a safe place to express their thoughts and feelings…it could be in the classroom or it could even be on social media.

