Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Recently I’ve been working on planning a writing unit for my World Literature and Composition classes. As is almost always the case for teachers and their planning, I have had to come up with some alternative choices. Some of my students will have already written a paper to the assigned prompt (this is a shared assignment among senior English classes), so I have started thinking about what these students will be writing about instead. After talking with some of my colleagues, I started looking up writing prompts that colleges have used in the past. As I went through the many prompts, I found the following 10 that I think can be great questions for any writer to consider and hopefully feel inspired to get their creative juices flowing:

  • What matters to you and why?
  • If your name were an acronym, what would it stand for and how would it reflect your strengths and personality?
  • What is the best piece of advice you have received while in high school?
  • What is the first thing that comes to mind when you see the word ‘future’?
  • Describe one of your quirks and why it is a part of who you are.
  • What is something about which you have changed your mind in the last three years?
  • Describe an experience where you were unsuccessful in achieving your goal. What lessons did you learn from this experience?
  • Describe an experience that forever changed your life and your outlook on life.
  • Describe some tasks that you have accomplished over the past two years that have no connection to academic studies.
  • What advice would you offer to a student just beginning his/her high school career?

I know that some of these are directed to high schoolers, but in many cases if we consider the questions as they apply to our careers or daily lives, they are still great ones to ponder. For example, the last prompt…if we were to change that to advice we would give someone who is entering our career field, we would still be able to write a great response!

Happy Writing, and if you have any other great prompts please share!

