Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Just like the students, teachers are also often surprised at how quickly the school year seems to go by. To me it seems just like moments ago that I was starting the school year off at a brand new school, teaching a brand new set of students. Yesterday though, I got an email (as did the rest of the staff) with the schedule for 1st semester final exams. :O Final exams?!? Already?!?

Thankfully, this year I have already started planning what my final exam is going to be for this new course and new set of students that I have. This is not because I am the world’s best planner when it comes to my curriculum, even though I would love to claim this title. Instead,Β it comes down to the fact that I have developed great relationships with my fellow English teachers and we are able to bounce ideas off of each other.

What’s even better, is the sharing of resources that we do, which also came in handy as I discussed final exams with said colleagues. One of the other English teachers had used a final format similar to the one that I am doing and so she was able to share with me the documents she had created a couple years ago.Β In this case, my World Literature students will be writing an essay answering one of our Unit questions while using text support from any of the stories and novels that we have read this year.

As is often the case in education, it is best not to reinvent the wheel if the resources are already there. Thanks to my English teacher buddies I am now able to refine the wheel and not create it for the fast-approaching final exams for this semester. I already know that the next few weeks are going to fly right by and before I know it, Winter Break will be at our doorsteps. Where does the time go???

(If you are interested in seeing this assignment, please feel free to contact me. I will be more than happy to share with you the same resources that I have, rubric included.) Happy Friday to everyone and happy planning as we begin our final countdowns to finals!

