Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Image from goodreads.com

“The incomplete weave breeds the darkness…”

Presented with impossible odds, the Guardians struggle to hold against the Shadow Riders. While enemies from within are discovered and allegiances are formed, the losses mount.

As the war escalates, one Guardian may have to make the ultimate sacrifice to save all.

(Book synopsis from goodreads.com)

Ashes and Spirits is actually the third book in the “Dragon’s Call” series written by A.D. Trosper. I first started reading the series last summer based on the recommendation of a friend, and I am very grateful to him for sharing these books with me.

Ashes and Spirits is just as good as the first two in the series (Embers at Galdrilene and Tears of War), but it does pick up right where the second book left off. So unlike some other series that are out there, the series does need to be read in order. There is also a prequel to the series, but I have not yet read that one.

With the series it’s hard to pinpoint just one main character. There are actually quite a few as we follow the Dragon Riders, also known as the Guardians, and their dragons. As I mentioned before, the read the first two books of this series in June so it took me a little while to remember who each of the characters were and what they had been doing at the end of the last book. (I have been waiting in great anticipation for the release of this third one in the series!)

I have been a huge fan of the Harry Potter series, and the Dragon’s Call series plays right into my love of fantasy and magic. Each one of the riders has a certain type of magic that they can perform and the dragons that they ride are also able to perform magic and each dragon enhances the magic of their rider, along with other benefits (such as a long lifespan).

In the third book, we see the Dragon Riders continuing to battle with the Shadow Riders (we must have the dark magic represented in any great fantasy novel), but one of the Shadow Riders ends up surprising us by the end of the book. I wish I could say that the readers come to a satisfying resolution by the end of the novel, but Trosper does a great job us leaving us hanging, waiting for the fourth book of the series. (Now I’ll be waiting in great anticipation for that one as well!!!)

It is difficult for me to do a proper summary of Ashes and Spirits without 1) discussing the first two books at great length, and 2) giving too much away about this novel. I will simply just say that if you enjoy reading stories that fall into the fantasy genre, then Dragon’s Call by A.D. Trosper is a great series to pick up.

