Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Cover image from goodreads.com

Anna is not sick, but she might as well be. By age thirteen, she has undergone countless surgeries, transfusions, and shots so that her older sister, Kate, can somehow fight the leukemia that has plagued her since childhood. The product of preimplantation genetic diagnosis, Anna was conceived as a bone marrow match for Kate—a life and a role that she has never challenged…until now. Like most teenagers, Anna is beginning to question who she truly is. But unlike most teenagers, she has always been defined in terms of her sister—and so Anna makes a decision that for most would be unthinkable, a decision that will tear her family apart and have perhaps fatal consequences for the sister she loves. A provocative novel that raises some important ethical issues, My Sister’s Keeper is the story of one family’s struggle for survival at all human costs and a stunning moral parable for all time.

(Story synopsis from book cover)

This is apparently my weekend to read gut-clenching novels. Once again I was able to tackle a book that was has been sitting on my “To Read” list for a very long time: My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult. I have been wanting to read this book for a while now, but it has usually been checked out by students. I got lucky, and I was able to check this book out at the same time as A Thousand Splendid Suns.

I tried to approach this book being as unbiased as possible. I have of course read a lot about My Sister’s Keeper and it’s been difficult to not watch the movie by the same title. But when I started this book Saturday, I could not put it down. (I ended up finishing the novel on Sunday). I was immediately drawn into Anna’s story. I also really enjoyed how Picoult also presented the story from the perspective of the other characters as well. It was interesting to see each thought and emotion of all of the family members, as well as the lawyer who ends up involved with the family.

I know that many people have already been introduced to the story either through word of mouth, reading the book, or seeing the movie, but I truly believe that My Sister’s Keeper is a book that everyone should read. My Sister’s Keeper raises many questions within the reader as they learn the story of each one of the characters. It is very easy to empathize with each person and to understand the decisions that they make. But the story still raises the question, who is right? And how do we know?

