Tags

, , , , ,

Woo Hoo! It’s June and that means my summer has started and I don’t have any work to do! Right?? Right???

Nope! Wrong! Sorry me…You might be a teacher, but that does not mean that you actually get summers off like everyone seems to think. (Ok, stop right there, what?!)

I have just completed my 4th full year of teaching, and every time we get to this point of the year people (outside of education) start saying, “Oh, you’re so lucky you get the summer off” or “What’s it like not having to do anything?” To which I normally start laughing, probably like a crazy person, as I then have to try to explain that I don’t actually have the summer off – I just get to do work without the students around.

In fact, in the 2 weeks that the students have been done with school I’ve already had 1 meeting, 2 trainings, and 1 workshop that I’ve attended. On top of that, I’ve had to squeeze in doctor’s appointments (any teacher will know it’s next to impossible to get an appointment during the year unless you want to miss school) and already start planning my curriculum for next school year. I will also be having more workshops and trainings this month, along with going into my classroom (once it’s been cleaned – thank you custodial staff!) to get it organized and arranged for next year, along with more meetings and required work time with my department.

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love my job and I love working with the high schoolers…but, if you think that teachers get the summer off, you are greatly confused. I had a couple people ask me, “How’s your summer going?” and I responded, “I’ll let you know when it starts.” I of course said this with a smile, but I really hadn’t been kidding. After all of the information I’ve already received from my trainings and workshops and having to get caught up on all the things around the house, I already feel like I’m behind for next year and it hasn’t even started yet.

As I know some of you have seen, I’ve been posting on here with more book reviews (check out my 2015 Books page to see a full list for this year), but I haven’t been able to get into my classroom this week because of construction at our building (power’s out), so I get to work from home. (I can definitely see the merits of working from home as I type this from my back patio with my coffee.)

So, I just wanted to clarify…teachers may not have students during the summer (unless they teach summer school), but that doesn’t mean they’re not still working…it just looks different.

End rant. 🙂

