Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I am currently reading The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows. I am absolutely loving this book so far. I did not realize that the format of the book was set up as a series of letters, but it is incredibly interesting.

In fact, I am enjoying this book so much that I have already compiled a bunch of quotes from the book. So many in fact, that I wanted to share all of them with you. I typically don’t post about a book as I am reading it, but I felt compelled to do so.

If you have not yet read The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, I would highly suggest it. I will of course be posting my review of the book when I finish it, so be looking out for it! Until then though, I hope you enjoy these quotes from the book. 🙂

“Perhaps there is some secret sort of homing instinct in books that brings them to their perfect readers.” (pg. 11)

“That’s what I love about reading: one tiny thing will interest you in a book, and that tiny thing will lead you onto another book, and another bit there will lead you onto a third book. It’s geometrically progressive – all with no end in sight, and for no other reason than sheer enjoyment.” (pg. 12)

“…booksellers really are a special breed…So, it has to be a love of readers and reading that makes them do it – along with first dibs on the new books.” (pg. 16)

“The old adage — humor is the best way to make the unbearable bearable — may be true.” (pg. 36)

“We read books, talked books, argued over books, and became dearer and dearer to one another.” (pg. 56)

“Reading good books ruins you for enjoying bad books.” (pg. 58)

“We clung to books and to our friends; they reminded us that we had another part to us.” (pg. 70)

(Disclaimer: My page numbers listed may be different from another version. I am reading the book on my Kindle app.)

Reminder: I will be posting my full book review at the end of the novel, so be watching!

Thanks for visiting, and Happy Friday!

