Tags

, , , , , , , ,

As I mentioned in my earlier post (which you can read here) about The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, I have absolutely been loving this book. I have been pulled into Juliet’s adventures and the stories of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

If I could hug this book I would!

As I continued to read the novel, there were so many more lines that continued to speak to me that I wanted to share some more of them with all of you. 🙂 (Again, my page numbers might be different because I am reading the Kindle version of the book.)

“I think you learn more if you’re laughing at the same time.” (pg. 97)

“I came to love our book meetings – they helped to make the Occupation bearable. Somme of the books sounded fine, but I stayed true to Seneca. I came to feel that he was talking to me – in his funny, biting way – but talking to me alone. His letters helped to keep me alive in what was to come later.” (pg. 100)

“…visitors offering their condolences, thinking to comfort me, said ‘Life goes on.’ What nonsense, I thought, of course it doesn’t. It’s death that goes on; Ian is dead now and will be dead tomorrow and next year and forever. There’s no end to that. But perhaps there will be an end to the sorrow of it. Sorrow has rushed over the world like the waters of the Deluge, and it will take time to recede.” (pg. 113)

“I never met a man half so true as a dog. Treat a dog right and he’ll treat you right – he’ll keep you company, be your friend, never ask you no questions.” (pg. 154)

“I have become better at writing than living…” (pg. 171)

“It is better to know the truth than to live in uncertainty.” (pg. 198)

“Every biography should be written within a generation of its subject’s life, while he or she is still in living memory.” (pg. 248)

“She’s so full of life that I have to remind myself she’s dead, and then I feel the wrench of losing her again.” (pg. 248)

“Companionship can help us surmount nearly any barrier…” (Afterword)

