Tags

, , ,

It’s January 1995, and Franny Banks has just six months left of the three-year deadline she set for herself when she came to New York, dreaming of Broadway and doing “important” work. But all she has to show for her efforts so far is a part in an ad for ugly Christmas sweaters, and a gig waiting tables at a comedy club. Her roommates―her best friend Jane, and Dan, an aspiring sci-fi writer―are supportive, yet Franny knows a two-person fan club doesn’t exactly count as success. Everyone tells her she needs a backup plan, and though she can almost picture moving back home and settling down with her perfectly nice ex-boyfriend, she’s not ready to give up on her goal of having a career like her idols Diane Keaton and Meryl Streep. Not just yet. But while she dreams of filling their shoes, in the meantime, she’d happily settle for a speaking part in almost anything—and finding a hair product combination that works.

Everything is riding on the upcoming showcase for her acting class, where she’ll finally have a chance to perform for people who could actually hire her. And she can’t let herself be distracted by James Franklin, a notorious flirt and the most successful actor in her class, even though he’s suddenly started paying attention. Meanwhile, her bank account is rapidly dwindling, her father wants her to come home, and her agent doesn’t return her calls. But for some reason, she keeps believing that she just might get what she came for.

(Story synopsis from Goodreads.com)

Someday, Someday, Maybe is Lauren Graham’s debut novel that was published in 2013. This novel appeared on may lists as “to be read” in 2014, and has since been sitting on my very own list waiting to be read. I know many people were very excited to read Someday, Someday, Maybe simply because they are huge Lauren Graham fans from her days on Gilmore Girls and Parenthood, along with her other roles. However, I went into reading this book without having any expectations…literally – I didn’t even read the story synopsis.

I think that could be why I eventually only ended up giving the book 2 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.com. I thought the book was “ok” but I did not really find myself drawn into the story. To start, I don’t really have an interest in acting, so the struggles that the main character, Franny, found herself facing were not appealing to me. I also felt like Graham did not always connect the dots between the passages of time other than through an illustrated Filofax belonging to Franny.

As a character, I could not connect with Franny as much as I have with other characters in the past. She was very full of self-doubt, which I can completely understand, but she was one of those who would argue or disbelieve others when they tried to point out her finer qualities – not the best for a struggling actress I would think. Also, we find Franny in the midst of facing her self-imposed deadline of finding success in New York City as an actress in the mid-1990s. I think the process of trying to find success is very clearly explained and it shows how difficult and competitive of a business it really is, but again this simply was not for me.

This is not to say that I was completely turned off by the entire novel…there were a few parts that I was drawn to and some great wisdom scattered throughout the pages that I will be keeping in mind. Overall, I just did not find myself drawn into Franny’s world or even the world of her roommates. But, if you are drawn to fun, easy reads about the struggles of the acting world then Someday, Someday, Maybe just might be the read for you.

