Tags

, , , , , ,

I recently read An Abundance of Katherines by John Green. (Read my review of it here.) As I read the novel I came across many great quotes. My favorite ones are here in this post.

“He liked all books, because he liked the mere act of reading, the magic of turning scratches on a page into words inside his head.”

“Everywhere man blames nature and fate, yet his fate is mostly but the echo of his character and passions, his mistakes and weaknesses.”

“What is the point of being alive if you don’t at least try to do something remarkable?”

“Books are the ultimate Dumpees; put them down and they’ll wait for you forever; pay attention to them and they always love you back.”

“The thing about chameleoning your way through life is that it gets to where nothing is real.”

“I feel like, like, how you matter is defined by the things that matter to you. You matter as much as the things that matter to you do. And I got so backwards, trying to make myself matter to him. All this time, there were real things to care about; real, good people who care about me, and this place. It’s so easy to get stuck. You just get caught in being something, being special or cool or whatever, to the point where you don’t even know why you need it; you just think you do.”

“Nothing was happening, really, but the moment was thick with mattering.”

