Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

For today’s NaBloPoMo post, I am actually drawing inspiration from the way that my day went. (If you missed Day 1 and 2 for NaBloPoMo you can click here and here.) I guess part of it could have been the fact that this morning, as ย I drove to school, it was really foggy out and I managed to hit almost every red light on my way…not exactly the best start to a day…but I don’t think that would really be fair or accurate for the perspective that I came away with.

As most of my regular followers might know (or even just from the title of my blog), I am a teacher. More specifically, I teach a senior level English class at our town’s public high school. As most educators, parents, students…well everyone, I guess…knows, we all have our days of ups and downs.

Most days are awesome! Especially when, as the teacher, you can see the learning occurring, or an idea coming together with a group of students. But, as with any job, there are also those days when things don’t go quite as planned – and that becomes frustrating or disappointing.

I think the reason that teachers, especially the good ones, feel those moments of frustration and disappointment is because we really care. We care about our students; we care about their successes both in and out of the classroom; we care when we see them struggling. Because we care, we tend to set higher expectations for our students to help them succeed and to help them see the same potential in themselves that we see in them. I can honestly say that I care about each and every one of my students, even if they don’t always know it. Sometimes it’s hard for me to show each one of them that I care because I see around 175 students in my classroom every day…and those are just the ones I have now. That number doesn’t include the students who stop in to see me…the ones I’ve had in the past.

It is because I care so much for each one of my students and I know the potential that they have that I can be disappointed, and that disappointment can come through in those moments of frustration. I want my students to do the very best that they can, and I know success can look different for each student. (I also know that they have their own difficulties that they face and I want to help them through those moments as well.) But I also want to see them striving to reach the potential that they have, so when students are not utilizing their timeย in class when given the opportunities and I’m available to help them as they develop their thoughts and ideas, I become disappointed.

Don’t get me wrong, many of my students work hard and strive to do the best that they can, but for some reason today the students who were not working wisely stood out to me. Again, maybe it was because of the not ideal start to the day or maybe I was just more sensitive to it today, but whatever the reason that it stands out to me, I want my students to know that if you think I’m disappointed it’s only because I care. You are all my children. Yes, all 175 of you, and I want the very best for you whatever that looks like for you and your life.

So tomorrow we will start again, and I will continue to care and continue to work with you to help you achieve.

