Tags

, , , , ,

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Trains, Planes, and Automobiles.”

Yesterday’s writing prompt from The Daily Post seemed like such a fun one that I couldn’t resist. This time of year, many people are making their travel plans (if they haven’t done so already) as they prepare to travel during the upcoming holiday season. For some, traveling during this time of year is a short trip, but for many others a lot of coordination is required.

The prompt from yesterday, more specifically said, “You’re going on a cross-country trip. Airplane, train, bus, or car?” While I have never gone on a full cross-country trip, I have done a trip  from Illinois to Montana.

I think if I were to plan a trip that would be a cross-country trip, I would pick the car. I think for a cross-country trip, no matter what country you live in, the car would be the best option because you have the freedom to choose your route and to change that route if you see a sign for an attraction/park/restaurant that you want to go to. Along a trip you can discover things that you never even knew were there, such as a smaller historical site or a haunted house that you can take a tour of. By taking the car, you can also pack coolers of snack and drinks to have along the way instead of relying on airplane food or the cafe car of a train.

424297_601891588354_1307410748_n

One of the amazing places found in Glacier National Park!

Don’t get me wrong, I love the convenience of the plane (especially when I only have a limited amount of time to go to a destination) and the train has been a fantastic form of travel (I love being able to use the wifi on Amtrak as I travel up to Chicago, or being able to avoid traffic because of the Metra). However, I think that if I had plenty of time for a cross-country trip, the car would be my choice. There are so many places that I want to visit and I know that there are other places I would like to go to and hike around.

From the experience I had with my trip to Montana, already having the car makes it so much easier once you get to your destination as well – especially if you are planning a hiking trip or one where you are wanting to make multiple stops. Along our way to Montana, we actually made a detour through the Badlands in South Dakota. This had not been a planned stop along the route, but I am so glad that we had the ability to deviate. Had we been traveling on a train, we might have caught a glimpse of the Badlands (if the train even traveled close enough) and from a plane, I wouldn’t have known it was there at all. The impromptu trip into the Badlands was an amazing place that I was able to explore and it created an awesome memory to have as well.

This is just an example of why I now believe if I were planning a cross-country trip I would now choose taking a car, as long as I had plenty of time to do so. I don’t think I would have chosen the same way prior to my Montana trip because I am normally one who likes to hurry up and get to my destination so that I can enjoy my time there. However, I think I would like the opportunities that can present themselves through driving across the country, any country.

Happy writing and happy Friday!

