Tags

, , , , ,

Welcome to Friday! But not just any Friday…Friday the 13th! (Insert scary noises here)

I actually do not prescribe to the belief that Friday the 13th is an unlucky day, but I do know that many people do have this belief. I find it very fascinating that so many superstitions are associated with this day. (Thankfully, the date was not actually been discussed in my classroom today…otherwise I think some of my seniors might have been trying to get out of work based on the day’s unluckiness. Hard to believe, I know.)

So many times we rely on “luck” to get us through situations. But on days like today, do we begin looking for “bad luck”? I believe that on particular days (especially days like Friday the 13th), we keep an eye out for the things that seem to go wrong. It’s like we are hyper-aware, and looking for the things that we can claim happened simply because it is Friday the 13th.

While looking up the history of Friday the 13th (there’s all sorts of information out there!), I came across an article that was written in 2012. (Friday the 13th: History, Origins,  Myths and Superstitions of the Unlucky Day) While I had read most of the information that was laid out before, I did find some of the popular myths and superstitions quite interesting. Some of them I had heard of before, but there were others that were new to me. Below is the list from the article:

  • If you cut your hair on Friday the 13th, someone in your family will die.
  • If a funeral procession passes you on Friday the 13th, you will be the next to die.
  • Do not start a trip on Friday or you will encounter misfortune.
  • If you break a mirror on Friday the 13th, you will have seven years of bad luck.
  • A child born on Friday the 13th will be unlucky for life.
  • Ships that set said on a Friday will have bad luck.
  • If you walk under a ladder or if a black cat crosses you on Friday the 13th, you will have bad luck.

As I mentioned before, some of these I had heard of…but the ones about the mirror, black cat and walking under a ladder I had been taught was all of the time, not just on Friday the 13th, that if you do those things you will have bad luck no matter what day of the week.

I hope your Friday has not been too “freaky” this 13th of the month. Tell me your thoughts about Friday the 13th: have you had bad luck happen or do you not believe in the superstition of it all? Please comment below, or send a link to your own post.

Happy Friday (the 13th!) and Happy Writing!

