Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

In the New York Times bestseller that the Washington Post called “Lean In for misfits,” Sophia Amoruso shares how she went from dumpster diving to founding one of the fastest-growing retailers in the world.

(Cover image and overview from Goodreads.com)

I actually picked up  my copy of #GIRLBOSS by Sophia Amoruso at an airport bookstore back in October. Whenever I travel I always buy a book at the airport (just a fun little habit I’ve gotten in to). However, I really haven’t had the opportunity to read #GIRLBOSS until now (because of other books and grading). But I seem to be on a bit of a nonfiction kick right now. This is just my most recent book that falls into this category. (I’ve also recently read Lives in Ruins and One of the Few. You can click on those titles to read my reviews of those books.) And I have another one lined up on my TBR list that I plan on reading next.

On to #GIRLBOSS though. I had this on my TBR list after I had heard great things about Amoruso’s book. Even though I am not in the fashion industry, this book is more than just about that. #GIRLBOSS is more about finding the “thing” that motivates you, that excites you and how you can get to a place in your life where you are doing something that makes you happy. Amoruso does not “pretty up” the journey that she took to make it to be a successful CEO of her own business. She does not try to hide the struggles that she went through. In fact, Amoruso talks about how it was these different phases in her life that led her to working in the lobby of an art school (simply for the health insurance) that allowed her to find her path to success.

Amoruso’s story is about her journey, but she also teaches her audience (directed at women) the advice that she has learned along the way. #GIRLBOSS is not a book about how to “get rich quick” or how to “start your own business.” Instead, #GIRLBOSS is about finding that confidence in yourself and knowing that you can succeed at whatever you try to do. Amoruso is trying to teach those women reading her book that we all have an entrepreneurial spirit that we need to tap into, no matter what our roles are. She encourages us to learn from our mistakes, find out how those mistakes can teach us about our strengths, and that it isn’t always necessary to follow the “rules” (although she does acknowledge there are certain rules that must be followed as we seek this success and become a better version of ourselves). As Amoruso says in her book, “Sometimes you break the rules, sometimes you follow them, but always on your own terms. You know where you’re going, but can’t do it without having some fun along the way.”

I also love simple, easy-to-follow, pieces of advice which can be turned into quick reminders to ourselves. Amoruso wrote her book in such a way, that there are these great pieces of advice scattered throughout. (If you follow me on Twitter you’ll know that I was sharing some of these as I read the book.) Some of my favorites I’ve shared below:

“Compromise is just a part of life. We all, at some point, find ourselves either directly or indirectly supporting something we disagree with.” (92)

“There are secret opportunities hidden inside every failure…but start looking now – they are everywhere!” (63)

“…the whole philosophy behind this book is that true success lies in knowing your weaknesses and playing to your strengths, In short, when you suck at something and don’t want it anyway, cut your losses and move on.” (65)

Amoruso also incorporated quotes to align with the different sections of her chapters. Again, I loved this touch showing how advice and wisdom can be found in a multitude of places. Additionally, she integrated other stories from #GIRLBOSSes who have succeeded by following the ideas, dreams, and activities that made them the most happy. This touch made the book more than just about Amoruso’s journey and allows the reader to see the possibilities that are out there if you strive to reach them. This book is simply a small kick-in-the-butt you’ve been looking for in print form.

Happy reading and have a great Saturday!

