Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s not every day that writers are limited in the number of words that they can use when they are writing. This is especially difficult when constructing the memoir. While memoirs are obviously shorter than autobiographies, the idea behind them is the same: write something that is authentic to you and tells a story. While my senior World Literature students are familiar with memoirs, today we started writing a different type of writing: Six Word Memoirs.

Six-Word Memoir originally debuted in 2006 (November) in Smith Magazine. Since then millions of these stories have been shared, and I doubt that includes the ones that get written in the classroom. This is the first time that I am having my students write this type of memoir, and so far I am having a blast working with them. For their six-word memoirs, I have given them the parameters of (obviously) only writing in six words and their memoir must be a reflection of their time at QHS. The majority of my students are seniors and in less than a month they will be finished with school. I thought this would be a great opportunity to get their creativity going as well as to have them reflect on their high school years.

I have really enjoyed working with them as they brainstorm and to see their creativity come through in this unique, creative non-fiction writing. I hope to be able to share some of their writing with you soon! I even came up with a couple of my own to share with them as examples, obviously from the teacher perspective.

Students making toast…That’s a first!

 

Taking literary trips around the world.

To learn more about six-word memoirs, please visit smithmag.net/sixwords. I also am hoping to get my hands on one of the books that they’ve published with six-word memoirs, so I will be keeping my eyes out for those.

