Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello everyone! It’s been some time since I last posted a book review here on Adventures of a Book Addict. I have had some changes in my life lately, mainly buying a house! 😮 But even with now being a homeowner, I have still (of course) made time to keep reading. 😉 So, because I haven’t been able to post lately (we had to wait for our wifi to be set up) I thought I would give you a brief review of each of the books I’ve read since my last post (Review of The Pug List). I have included a link to Goodreads for each book so that you can read the synopsis of the novel on there. I hope you enjoy and maybe find some new books to read along the way!

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling

4/5 stars on Goodreads. I thoroughly enjoyed reading Mindy Kaling’s book. She writes with honesty and humor that allows the reader to relate to what she’s saying (even as we live our different lives). Kaling’s honesty allows the reader to understand her journey to become a successful writer and actress. In fact, reading Kaling’s book has made me interested in watching all of the episodes of “The Office.” (Thank you Netflix!)

True Love (Nantucket Brides Trilogy #1) by Jude Deveraux (reread)

4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads. I found my copy of True Love when I was packing up my books for the move. I had read this book a few years ago on vacation, and I wanted to read the entire trilogy, so I needed to start over. I found this first book to be the most interesting of the three in the trilogy since so much revolves around a family legend/mystery that needs to be solved. There is of course a love story that happens withing the novel, as I’m sure you could surmise from the trilogy title. This book was a quick, easy read – perfect for summer.

For All Time (Nantucket Brides Trilogy #2) by Jude Deveraux

4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads. For the second book in the trilogy, there was a different love story that was followed, but the same characters from the first book were brought in to allow continuity in the story line and setting. The second novel allowed more background to be given of the two large families that were introduced in the first novel. There was again another interesting twist that involved some time travel. This was another quick, easy read but with enough conflict to keep the story interesting.

Ever After (Nantucket Brides Trilogy #3) by Jude Deveraux

3 out of 5 stars on Goodreads. The third book of the Nantucket Brides trilogy was probably my least favorite of the three. It’s not that it wasn’t well written, but the love story and plot line did not hold my attention as much as the others. While there was still an element of mystery/magic, it was not as integral to the pace of the story line like it was with the other books in the series. I also did not “fall in love” with the two main characters in the same way that I did with the others. This was still a good book, but I don’t know if I would have read it had it not been a part  of the trilogy.

A Book Addict’s Treasury by Julie Rugg

4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads. This book was a fun gift that I got from a coworker who left after the school year. (Sad day! 😦 ) But this was a great book for many reasons: 1) the book was full of fun quotations that relate to being a book lover (in most cases) and 2) it was easy to pick up and put down. That second reason was perfect for the timing at which I was reading it because my husband and I were in the process of closing on a house and packing up our apartment and moving. Having this book allowed me to still get in a bit of reading without feeling (too) guilty that I was putting it down and unable to read as much as I wanted to. I also found a number of quotes that I absolutely loved. (If you follow me on Twitter or Instagram, I shared some there.)

A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler

3 out of 5 stars on Goodreads. A Spool of Blue Thread has been on my TBR list and so I was very excited when it was available to download through my library. The novel is very well written and Tyler has a wonderful ability to paint the setting for the reader, however, I did not love it. I did enjoy how we were introduced personally to many of the main characters and go their perspectives throughout the generations, but at the same time I felt that as soon as we were really starting to get to know what made each person tick, they were taken away. I always felt like there was just that certain something that was put out of reach about each person. I wanted to get to know them a little bit better so I could understand what drove them. Again, the writing was really well done, but I could not feel that connection to the characters that I was hoping for – I was still left with many questions.

A Murder in Time by Julie McElwain

4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads. A Murder in Time is a book that had not been on my reading radar at all. Instead, I came across it using my Overdrive library app as I was searching for a book to read while I was waiting for some titles to become available to me (I have a request in for a few library books.) McElwain’s book was listed as the Big Library Read on Overdrive and I immediately jumped on the chance to read it. I was intrigued by the combination of murder/mystery/science fiction that was used in the novel. It also is the first in a, what I hope is a long running, series. There were some really interesting parts where the main character must figure out how to catch a serial killer without the help of the modern-day technology that she’s used to. I’m looking forward to reading more by McElwain.

I am now currently reading Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs, the third in the Miss Peregreine’s series. I am of course always looking for new books to read, so please comment below what you’re currently reading or a book that you love to recommend. I’m usually up for trying any genre!

Happy reading!

