Tags

, , , , , , , ,

If you’ve ever visited my blog before, then you know that I love to read (hence the name, Adventures of a Book Addict) – I love books and stories and the places that they take you. I love to be drawn in to the lives and experiences of others. I love to read historical fiction and nonfiction because I want to know what it was like – whatever “it” may be. I want to find out where we all come from and what life was like before our amazing technology and our ability to be connected.

However, this past weekend I was at a family reunion for my husband’s family. And as I get older and start to miss the stories my grandparents could have told (if I had known better when I was young), I find that I am interested in knowing those stories. I am interested to know our own history – where do we come from? what major events did they live through? how did they create their lives? what was it like for them to grow up?

This has become a more intriguing topic as shows like “Who Do You Think You Are?” on TLC and the availability of information on Ancestry.com allow people to trace their family histories. Despite this though, there are still families (like mine) where these options still don’t provide much information, so we must look to our families. We need to listen to our aunts and uncles, grandparents,  and parents as they share stories and memories that were shared with them and they experienced.

These stories are the best ones. They are the ones that tell us who we are and where we come from. These are the stories of our families actually living history. We are able to find out what those moments in time were actually like for the ones who lived it. We can find out the emotions and what it took to survive. We can know the difficulties that they faced and the joy they felt. These are the stories that are most interesting because if it wasn’t for them, we would not be the people we are today.

So we must remember, before it’s too late, that the best stories we can hear and read are the ones that come from our very own family members. These are the best stories.

