Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Within our society we are conditioned to know what we want to do with the rest of our lives by an early age. We’re supposed to have a profession picked out by the time that we’re 18 and to then dedicate our years in college to pursuing that particular choice. However, I’m in my 30s (early 30s) and still feel like I’m just discovering who I am. I continue to find new interests, find new talents, read new things that inspire me. I find myself thinking about my future as though I were still a kid – discovering who I am. Am I alone in this?

14701294_404004076655741_4925880584279949312_n

Today one of my best friends and I ran a 10K that benefited our local VA. I ran a 10K. Running long distances was certainly not something I had ever considered doing even up to a few years ago. In my younger years, I ran track – but I was a sprinter and a jumper – and I thought the distance runners were out of their minds to run miles and  miles on end just for the fun of it. Yet, here I am. I have become a distance runner (I think. I’m still learning). I now run many miles at a time and I try to seek out races I can do that benefit others in some way. I’ve discovered this part of me as I continue to grow up.

It’s not just with hobbies/interests that I find myself thinking about for “when I grow up.” I think about how many different ideas I’ve had for my profession and how people truly decide what they’re going to do for the rest of their lives. How many people are in jobs that they don’t love simply because they don’t know how to take the next step or how to create the job that doesn’t yet exist? How can we as adults expect children to make such important decisions for themselves when they still haven’t figured out who they truly are yet?

I know that there are things I’m still discovering about myself, and I’m excited as I experience new things and make new memories along the way. There are times where I still don’t feel like an adult, but hey, there’s time for that right?

Happy Writing all!

